Rounding Third: Sprint Speed Review

Rounding Third: Sprint Speed Review

This article is part of our Rounding Third series.

In our quest for finding stolen bases from players who weren't already among last year's stolen base leaders, I dug into Statcast's Sprint Speed this April. Of course, in a sprint season it's difficult to draw definitive conclusions, but let's forge ahead nonetheless and see if we were able to unearth any hidden gems. For a refresher, here's the full explanation from's Mike Petriello about what the Sprint Speed metric is. Using the data from Baseball Savant, I looked at the top 24 overall players on the list, setting 100 "Competitive Runs" as the minimum, and then broke it down by position, using lesser minimums. The decision to go top 24 instead of 20 overall proved to be fortuitous. Combing through both sections, here's the list of players I came up with who had some promise.

  1. Teoscar Hernandez
  2. Harrison Bader
  3. Michael Chavis
  4. Christian Walker
  5. Jose Altuve
  6. Joey Wendle
  7. Dansby Swanson
  8. Willy Adames
  9. Hunter Dozier
  10. Harold Ramirez
  11. Josh Rojas
  12. Lewis Brinson
  13. Avisail Garcia


So how did it go? Let's look at each player (some will be quite brief), with a focus on their stolen bases, noting if they stood out otherwise.

Teoscar Hernandez - Suffice to say, if you drafted Hernandez, it was a great success! Not only did Hernandez steal six bases in only 50 games, but he also hit .289/.340/.579 with 16 homers, 34 RBIs and 33 runs. I expanded my overall list to 24 players to include Hernandez, and I'm glad I did.

Want to Read More?
Subscribe to RotoWire to see the full article.

We reserve some of our best content for our paid subscribers. Plus, if you choose to subscribe you can discuss this article with the author and the rest of the RotoWire community.

Get Instant Access To This Article Get Access To This Article
RotoWire Community
Join Our Subscriber-Only MLB Chat
Chat with our writers and other RotoWire MLB fans for all the pre-game info and in-game banter.
Join The Discussion
Jeff Erickson
Jeff Erickson is a co-founder of RotoWire and the only two-time winner of Baseball Writer of the Year from the Fantasy Sports Writers Association. He's also in the FSWA Hall of Fame. He roots for the Reds, Bengals, Red Wings, Pacers and Northwestern University (the real NU).
FanDuel MLB: Sunday World Series Targets
FanDuel MLB: Sunday World Series Targets
DraftKings MLB: World Series Game 5 Breakdown
DraftKings MLB: World Series Game 5 Breakdown
Collette Calls: Shifting Targets
Collette Calls: Shifting Targets
DraftKings MLB: World Series Game 4 Breakdown
DraftKings MLB: World Series Game 4 Breakdown